California Poppies on a Foothill rooftop garden

Sustainability at Foothill

History & Philosophy

The sustainability steering committee came together in 2008 at the request of Foothill College President Judy C. Miner, Ed.D., who was previously vice president of educational resources and instruction at De Anza College.

De Anza, Foothill's sister college, was at the forefront of sustainable initiatives for higher education. Likewise, district facilities personnel have documented sustainable efforts in support of previous Foothill-De Anza Chancellor Martha Kanter, who served on the board of the Presidents' Climate Commitment Committee.

The original Foothill sustainability steering committee was comprised of six members from the ranks of faculty, classified staff, administrators and district central services.

The committee then developed a plan to present current sustainability efforts to faculty and staff at Foothill's Opening Day convocation on September 19, 2008.

building with flowers

We're Here to Help!

Asha Jossis, FF&E Coordinator


Building 1900, Office 1922