

Foothill College Academic Senate Executive Committee Meeting Agenda

Monday, February 24, 2025

2:00 – 3:55 p.m. in the Krause Center for Innovation (4006) and Zoom

Meeting ID: 823 3995 1505 Passcode: 631666

Dial by your location: (669) 900-6833 or (408) 638-0968

2024-25 Executive Committee Members (33): Officers: Voltaire Villanueva (President), Patrick Morriss (Executive Vice President), Ben Kaupp (Vice President of Curriculum), Robert Cormia (Secretary/Treasurer), Senators by division: APPR: Stephan Schnell, Nate Vennarucci; BSS: Mona Rawal, Kerri Ryer; CNSL: Tracee Cunningham, Fatima Jinnah; DRC/VRC: Ana Maravilla; FA/Comm: Hilary Gomes, Eric Kuehnl; HSH: Lydia Daniel, Brenda Hanning; KA: Rita O'laughlin, Katy Ripp; LA:, Stephanie Chan, Amber La Piana; LRC: Destiny Rivera, Eric Reed; STEM: Rachel Mudge, Ryan Pugh; PT Reps: Michael Chang, Lynette Vega; Other Members: ASFC: Paulo Verzosa; Classified: Doreen Finkelstein; FacAssoc: Julie Jenkins; Prof. Dev.: Carolyn Holcroft; Chair of Teaching with Technology: Allison Lenkeit Meezan; Student Learning Outcomes Coordinator: vacant; Faculty serving other roles: Evan Gilstrap Dean of Equity: Ajani Byrd; President's Cabinet: Stacy Gleixner;

2.24.25 AGENDA:

#	Time*	Topic	Action**	Objective	Presenter	Supporting
						Materials***
1	2:00	Call to Order	В		Villanueva	
2	2:00	Roll Call	В		Cormia	
3	2:05	Adoption of Agenda	В		Villanueva	
4	2:10	Public Comment on items not on agenda (Senate cannot discuss or take action)****	I			
5	2:15	Approval of 2.10.25 Minutes	В		Villanueva	• February 10, 2025, Minutes v2
6	2:25	ASFC President Updates to the Academic Senate	I	ASFC President to share current student issues	Verzosa	
7	2:35	Lower Campus Name Change	D, A	Second read of a resolution to honor Dr. Jean Thomas by naming the Foothill College Lower Campus Student Service Building	Morriss	• Resolution in Solidarity with Naming the Jean Thomas Center
8	2:45	Foothill's Institutional Values Revision Proposal	D	Review and discuss proposed revisions to Foothill's institutional values, ensuring alignment with the college's mission and strategic goals.	Whalen	• Foothill's Values (Slide Deck)
	3:00	Break				
9	3:05	Multiple and Overlapping Enrollments	D	Discuss faculty feedback and review the need to address an increase in student requests for time conflict overrides.	Cervantes, Villanueva	
10	3:20	Insights from the ASCCC Academic Academy	I, D	Report out of discussions from the ASCCC Academic Academy regarding the role of AI in community colleges, including its applications in curriculum development, academic support, student advising, assessment, and instructional design.	Chang, La Piana, Villanueva	 The HUMANS Framework and Guiding Principles State Chancellor's Al Fellows Program (weblink)

Standing Items						
11	3:40	Officer & Committee Reports • Curriculum Committee • District Diversity and Equity	I		All	
		Advisory Committee Election Committee Update Institutional Effectiveness Committee Mission Informed Planning Council				
12	3:50	Announcements and for the good of the order (the Senate cannot take action)	В		All	
13	3:55	Close of meeting	В		Villanueva	

^{*}Times are approximate

Remote Attendance Locations:

Katy Ripp
 12345 El Monte Road, Room 2804
 Los Altos, CA 94022
 In District: Yes

Rachel Mudge
 236 Marich Way
 Los Altos CA 94022
 In District: Yes

Rita O'Loughlin
 1037 Taft Street
 Redwood City, CA 94061
 In District: No

Ana Maravilla
 12345 El Monte Road, Room 5407
 Los Altos, CA 94022
 In District: Yes

Destiny Rivera
 12345 El Monte Road, Library
 Los Altos, CA 94022
 In District: Yes

CALENDAR OF 2024-2025 REGULAR ACADEMIC SENATE MEETINGS

Fall 2024 Quarter	Winter 2025 Quarter	Spring 2025 Quarter
September 30	January 13	April 7
October 14	January 27	April 21
October 28	February 10	May 5
November 4	February 24	May 19
November 18	March 10	June 2
December 2	March 17	June 16 (retreat)

^{**}Action Legend: **B**=Regular Senate business; **I**=Information sharing; **D**=Discussion with intent to act; **A**=Action

^{***}Supporting Materials: Link to documents posted to the Academic Senate website

^{****}At this time, the public may address the Academic Senate on any matter within the subject matter jurisdiction of the Academic Senate that is not on the agenda. Each person who addresses the Senate must first be recognized by the Academic Senate President or designee. Comments should be addressed to the Senate as a whole and not to individual members. Members of the Senate are not obligated to comment on, or respond to, or address comments by the public.

DISTRIBUTION:

Executive Committee of the Academic Senate; Kristina Whalen (President); Bret Watson (VP Finance & Admin); Laurie Scolari (VPSS); Simon Pennington (AVP Communications); Teresa Ong (AVP Workforce & CTE); Stacy Gleixner (VPI); Kurt Hueg (AVPI); vacant (Marketing); Valerie Fong (Dean LA); Ron Herman (Dean FA/Comm); Aaron Korngiebel (Dean BSS); Mike Teijeiro (Dean KA); Stephanie Crosby (Dean DRC/VRC); Isaac Escoto (Interim Dean Counseling); Mark Barnes (Dean LRC); Zachary Cembellin (Dean STEM); Lene Whitley-Putz (Dean Online Learning); Catalina Rodriguez (Dean of Student Affairs); Anthony Cervantes (Dean of Enrollment); Elaine Kuo (Institutional Research); Evan Gilstrap (Articulation Officer); Daphne Small (Student Affairs); Mary Vanatta (Curriculum Coordinator); Tim Shively (FA); Amy Edwards (FA); Kathy Perino (FA); Kathryn Maurer (FHDA Academic Senate President); Erik Woodbury (De Anza AS); Peter Landsberger (President, Board of Trustees); Lee Lambert (FHDA Chancellor); Zara Ainge (Foothill Student Trustee); Doreen Finkelstein (Classified Senate President); Anu Khanna (Interim Vice Chancellor, Organizational Effectiveness and Engagement); Chris Dela Rosa (Vice Chancellor, Business Services); Dianna Rose (Vice Chancellor, Human Resources & Equal Opportunity); Jory Hadsell (Vice Chancellor, Technology);